day 12

today’s workout (W4D3) from c25k: brisk five-minute warmup walk, then jog 3 minutes, walk 90 seconds, jog 5 minutes, walk 2-1/2 minutes, jog 3 minutes, walk 90 seconds, jog 5 minutes.

statstime 58:10; distance 3.31 miles; calories 554; pace 17:28 (max of 9:42); heartrate average 143, max 180

thoughts: so another storm and another big break from running. i didn’t want to take a whole week off, but we got a huge pile of snow and it really wasn’t possible to go out until today. even then, it was still wicked icy in a lot of spots. i had to take a longer walk between the first set of 3- and 5-minute jogs so i could get off an icy hill i was on. definitely don’t need to a fall to make running even harder.

i think before i started running, i had assumed it would be easy to pick up again. i was an active kid–horseback riding, swim team, soccer–and just fell out of all of it except riding in college. i used to be a good runner, so why would it be hard again? welp, that was a bit fat lie. i’m good at a number of things, but they all took a lot of time and hard work for me to become good at them. same goes with running, i’m discovering. when i’m on a particularly grueling uphill climb, i grit my teeth and remind myself that nothing worth having comes easily. something to remember all the time, it would seem.

hope y’all had a great christmas!

About firecracker

ginger. lawyer. libertarian. prep. sailor. equestrian. asshole. big, big nerd. @dks2008 on twitter || firecracking.wordpress.com and firecracking.tumblr.com on the webz
This entry was posted in couch to 5k, run. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to day 12

  1. Amanda says:

    I am so very very proud of you!! I have once again fallen behind, but since I didn’t set myself up with an end date and I’m, ya know, moving 2300 miles, I’m giving myself a break ha! 🙂 Tomorrow I’m doing W3D2. I am so impressed that you’re still running outside. I’m losing my treadmill unless I join a gym in Nashville, but there’s a park directly outside my door. I have no excuses. Hold me to that 😉

    • firecracker says:

      thanks, lovebug! you totally get a break! but once you get settled i’m going to start harassing you! 😉 and there’s not much to be impressed by with the outdoor running, it’s just the only way i can actually do it. i hate the treadmill with every fiber of my being and just love being outside.

      xx

Leave a Reply

