day 6

um, hello. long time no post. as you may know, i run outside. i think the treadmill and the elliptical are tools of the devil, which is a big reason my attempts at this have failed in the past. as you may also know, i live in colorado. running outside + colorado winter = not ideal. we got a big storm last week spread out over a few days. we had about 8 inches and it hasn’t been melting quickly. and then i got lazy. it’s really hard for me to set a new plan, deviate from it, and then go back. so while i could’ve started running again wednesday, i kept making excuses. i’m disappointed in myself, but i started back today and today is all i can do anything about.

so with all that said, today:

today’s workout (W2D3) from c25k: brisk five-minute warmup walk. then alternate 90 seconds of jogging and two minutes of walking for a total of 20 minutes

statstime 33:58; distance 2.17 miles; calories 328; pace 15:13 (max of 6:30); heartrate average 145, max 181

thoughts: as you can see, this workout was significantly shorter and faster than my other workouts have been. i simply couldn’t convince my laziness to stop, so i conceded and just did the bare minimum. i refuse to be upset about it because i actually went out and did it instead of sitting on my butt. also? i love endorphins. the first mile was awful, but the second was totally fine, and–dare i say it–kind of fun. i wore “real” shoes again instead of my vibrams and think i will continue that for a while. i had really wanted to be a barefoot runner, but listening to my body is more important than my ideals. maybe once i become a legitimate runner i can make the switch, but my feet just aren’t having it right now.

next workout: i’m pretty sure i’ll do another week 2 workout next since i took so much time between the first two days and the last. i’ll play it by ear, but i’m not sure i’m ready for a 3 minute run yet.

i cannot let a setback derail me. i’ll see you for the next one.

About firecracker

ginger. lawyer. libertarian. prep. sailor. equestrian. asshole. big, big nerd. @dks2008 on twitter || firecracking.wordpress.com and firecracking.tumblr.com on the webz
This entry was posted in couch to 5k, run. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to day 6

  1. Amanda says:

    My email got out of control, but now you’re added to my GR and I’m keeping up! Go you! I lived in the sketchy sketchy part of town, so I couldn’t run outside much. Now my friend’s apartment is literally next door to the “gym” so I don’t have a great excuse. I’m a treadmill girl for now 🙂

    Question – how are you figuring out your pace with all the starting and stopping[insert question mark, darn broken keyboard] I’ve just done it as if I ran the whole thing, but it doesn’t really show me what my RUNNING pace is, ya know[again with the question mark]

    • firecracker says:

      i’m using an app on my droid (cardiotrainer) that monitors distance (by GPS), steps, pace, and a whole bunch more. i’m not sure how accurate the pace is (the calories have turned out to be really inaccurate), but it’s been nice to track. the 15:13 above includes my walking and running increments. i’m not super worried about my running pace until i start running in longer increments.

      glad you’re here. 🙂

  2. Pingback: day 11 « lose & thrive

Leave a Reply

