day 2

good morning!

today’s workout (W1D2) from c25k: brisk five-minute warmup walk. then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes

statstime 1:12:12; distance 4.11 miles; calories 586; pace 17:34 (max of 6:28!); heartrate average 132, max 174

heart rate concerns: since i had properly set up my HR monitor this time (as opposed to monday), she (the HRM) was pissed about my HR. the standard calculation for maximum HR is 220 minus your age, which puts me at 195. today’s highest HR was 174, which is 89% of my maximum and quite a bit out of my target range. however, to be within my target range, i essentially have to walk. while i certainly felt winded when running, it was not nearly too much. and i can’t lose weight walking–during law school i’d walk about 2-3 miles every day. each semester i would lose about 10 pounds and then put them all back on during exams (i’m a stress eater). walking as exercise is certainly better than nothing, but i’m looking for more substantial results. i have an appointment with my doctor in a few weeks, so i’ll be sure to bring this issue up.

thoughts: the first running set was miserable, but it got steadily better. it was significantly warmer today than it has been and i hate the heat, but tough. i have an ipod nano, but can’t find the cord for it (whoever designed a different cord than the rest of the apple products is an ass), so i’ve been using my old school fifth generation ipod. add my android and i’ve got a lot of junk i’m carrying around. hoping to find the ipod nano cord and then my arm band for my droid so i don’t have to wear clothes with pockets all the time. the jiggling (my fat and my electronics) is driving me nuts.

tomorrow: is thanksgiving. my dad had major surgery last week so we’re keeping a low key thanksgiving around here. just me, my mom, and my dad (my brother is in australia). we’re still doing some of the thanksgiving foods, but on a lesser scale and we don’t have to host a big party. hopefully this means that i won’t eat very much (ha) and that i can still get moving a little bit tomorrow. we’ll see!

happy thanksgiving!

About firecracker

ginger. lawyer. libertarian. prep. sailor. equestrian. asshole. big, big nerd. @dks2008 on twitter || firecracking.wordpress.com and firecracking.tumblr.com on the webz
This entry was posted in couch to 5k, run. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

